cialis belgique

British Open Betting

British Open BettingBritish Open is one of the biggest, if not the biggest golf event of the year, and a hugely popular golf betting event.

The Open Championship is the oldest of golf’s four major championships and the only one to be held outside of the United States. The event was first played at Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland in 1860. The tournament was played over three rounds of a twelve-hole course in a single day with victory going to Willie Park, Sr.

Bet on British Open 2014

Brand Name Products
BetOnline BetOnline Sports Betting, Live Betting, USA Friendly...

Since 1979, The Open has been played on the weekend of the third Friday in July and follows The US Masters and the US Open. The event was moved to a Sunday finish in 1980 having previously concluded on a Saturday. The venue for the event is one of nine links courses in England and Scotland. It has only been staged once in Northern Ireland, at Royal Portrush in 1951. Portrush did stage the Irish Open in 2012 with great success.

The 2013 Open had total prize money of £5.25 million with a first prize of £945,000, very much in keeping with the other three major championships. In the event of a tie, The Open features a four-hole playoff and continues into sudden death if a winner has still not been decided.

Past winners of “the Open”

The oldest winner was Old Tom Morris at 46 in 1867 with Young Tom Morris being the youngest at just 17 in 1868. Young Tom also won four consecutive titles between 1868 and 1872 (no tournament was staged in 1871). Harry Vardon won the Open on six occasions between 1896 and 1914.

The lowest 72-hole score was 267 recorded by Australian Greg Norman in 1993 with rounds of 66, 68, 69 and 64. The lowest actual score was 19 under by Tiger Woods in 2000, a record for any major championship.

Originally, the winner was presented with the Challenge Belt and prize money was not introduced until 1864 when Old Tom Morris won £6. Young Tom Morris was allowed to keep the Belt in 1870 after winning it on three consecutive times. Young Tom Morris received a medal when achieving a fourth consecutive win and the famous Claret Jug then became the prize.

Only six amateurs have managed to win in the history of the event. The last to do so was Bobby Jones when he claimed his third Open and part of his incredible Grand Slam. The first American to win the Open was Walter Hagen in 1922. Ben Hogan, arguably the greatest American golfer of all time, competed in the Open only once in 1953 when he was victorious at Carnoustie.

When South African, Gary Player won in 1959 it marked the beginning of the domination of the Big Three: Player, Palmer and Nicklaus. Nicklaus, nicknamed “The Golden Bear”, won in 1966, 1970 and 1978, finished runner-up seven times and a remarkable sixteen top-5 finishes.

The clash between Nicklaus and his compatriot Tom Watson at Turnberry in 1977 is widely regarded as the greatest contest in golf history, Watson eventually emerging the victor. Watson won five Opens, more than anyone else has since the 1950s. In 2009 he came agonisingly close to adding a sixth championship at the age of 59 when a bogey at the final hole forced him into a playoff that he eventually lost to Stewart Cink.

In the 1980’s it was the Europeans who dominated with famous victories for Seve Ballesteros, Sandy Lyle and Nick Faldo. The Americans redressed the balance in the 1990’s and Tiger Woods has won three times in recent years, 2000 and 2005 at St Andrews and again in 2006 at Hoylake, the venue for 2014.

British Open 2014

The Open Championship will be held from 17th to 20th July at Hoylake, otherwise known as Royal Liverpool in 2014. Hoylake on the Wirral has staged the event eleven times since 1897 and is the second-oldest seaside links golf course in England.

Hoylake is built on the racecourse of the Liverpool Hunt Club and hosted the inaugural Amateur Championship in 1885. Fred Daly became the first player to win from Northern Ireland in 1947 and it was sixty years before the next Northern Irishman, Padraig Harrington, would lift the Claret Jug. It was also the venue for the famous third Open victory of Bobby Jones, part of his unprecedented grand slam of golf.

Arnaud Massey became the only Frenchman to win the title when he won in 1907 and Argentinian Roberto De Vicenzo became the first South American to win a major when he triumphed at Hoylake in 1967.

For more info, visit the official British Open website which offers live leaderboards, videos, news and much more.

Betting on the British Open

There are countless of sportsbooks offering good odds on the Open, with early betting opportunities as well. We would recommend Bet365 or BetOnline (USA) as mentioned in the table above.

Author Profile: