cialis belgique

US Masters Betting

U.S. Masters GolfThe US Masters is the first of the four major championships and takes place during the first full week in April at Augusta National Golf Club, Georgia. The Masters is invitational and has the smallest field of players of the four majors.

In this article we will focus on some historical moments of the Masters along with tips and betting info for the upcoming 2014 US Masters golf event.

Bet on US Masters 2014

Brand Name Products
BetOnline BetOnline Sports Betting, Live Betting, USA Friendly...

Most of the top players will meet the criteria for invitation but the Masters Committee has the discretion to invite any golfer not otherwise qualified.

Augusta National was created by Bobby Jones under the guidance of the first Club Chairman Clifford Roberts and opened in 1933. The course used to be a plant nursery and every hole on the course is named after a tree or shrub. Its picturesque setting and lightning fast greens are synonymous with the event.

In 1963 Augusta began the custom of starting the tournament with an honorary opening tee shot at the first hole. The original honorary starters were Jock Hutchison and Fred McLeod who led off every tournament from 1963 to 1973. Byron Nelson and Gene Sarazen started in 1981 and were followed by Sam Snead in 1984.

Snead struck his final opening tee shot in 2001, a year before his death. In 2007, Arnold Palmer took over as the honorary starter and he was joined by Jack Nicklaus (2010 and 2011) and later Gary Player (2012).

Masters champions gain automatic qualification to the U.S. Open, the British Open and the PGA Championship for the next five years. They also receive membership on the PGA Tour and invitations to The Players Championship for the same period. Champions are also awarded the famous green jacket at the awards ceremony.

Past Winners of the U.S. Masters

The first Augusta National Invitational was held in 1934 and won by Horton Smith. The following year, Gene Sarazen hit a double eagle, holing out from the fairway on the 15th before winning a playoff against Craig Wood.

The event became officially known as the US Masters in 1939 and the earliest winners included some of the greatest names in golf: Byron Nelson, Sam Snead and Ben Hogan.

Through the 1960’s and 70’s, the Masters was dominated by Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer and Gary Player. Jack Nicklaus holds the record for most Masters victories with six, also being the oldest player to win a major championship when successful in 1986 at the age of 46.

South African Gary Player became the first non-American to win the Masters in 1961. Arnold Palmer and Tiger Woods have won the tournament on four occasions and Phil Mickelson is one of five players to have won the event three times.

The late Seve Ballesteros became the first European to win the Masters in 1980 and he followed up in 1983. Further European success followed with Bernhard Langer (1985 and 1993), Sandy Lyle (1988), Nick Faldo (1989, 1990 and 1996), Ian Woosnam (1991) and Jose Maria Olazabal (1994 and 1999).

In 1997, Tiger Woods won the Masters by a record twelve shots and in 2003 Mike Weir became the first Canadian golfer to win a major tournament and the first left-handed player to win at Augusta.

US Masters 2013

The 2013 Masters will be remembered for Adam Scott becoming the first Australian to win the famous green jacket. He did so by beating Angel Cabrera on the second playoff hole with a 15-foot birdie putt.

It was well deserved having slumped to a dramatic loss in the closing holes of the British Open only nine months previously. On that occasion he had finished with four consecutive bogeys to present the trophy to South African Ernie Els.

He was a different proposition over the closing holes of the Masters, claiming three birdies over the last six including a 25-footer on the 72nd. Cabrera produced a majestic 7-iron to four feet on the last to force the playoff but it was the Australian who was destined to add his name to the roll of honour.

See Adam Scott win the 2013 tournament:

It has been a great tournament for Australia with Jason Day and Marc Leishman also in contention over the closing holes.

US Masters 2014

The 2014 tournament will be played from April 10th to 13th. The opening round takes place on Thursday with the final round concluding the event on Sunday. In the event of a tie, there will be a sudden-death playoff with players alternating between holes 18 and 10 until a winner is decided.

Author Profile: