cialis belgique

US Open Golf Betting

History – The US Open Golf Championship is the second of the four major championships in golf. It is traditionally held in mid-June with courses set up to favour accurate driving and make low scoring very difficult. This is without doubt, one of the big golf betting events of the year.

The US Open is often won by a golfer scoring at or around par and on several occasions even over-par has been good enough to win the tournament. The courses are typically very long with deep rough and undulating greens.

The top 10 finishers at the U.S. Open are exempt from qualifying for the following year’s event with the top four also gaining an invitation to the following season’s US Masters. It is the only one of the four majors to retain an 18-hole playoff in the event of a tie. A playoff has been required on three previous occasions, most recently when Tiger Woods defeated Rocco Mediate in 2008.

Bet on US Open 2014

Brand Name Products
BetOnline BetOnline Sports Betting, Live Betting, USA Friendly...

Past winners

The first U.S. Open was played in 1895 on a nine-hole course at the Newport Country Club in Newport, Rhode Island. It was a 36-hole event that was completed in a single day. It was won by Englishman Horace Rawlins who had taken up a position at the host club at the start of the year. British golfers dominated the event in the early years and John J McDermott was the first native born American winner in 1911. McDermott remains the youngest ever winner of the Open at the aged of 19.

Since that time, only players from six other countries have managed to win the US Open. South Africa has won the event six times since 1965 with the American domination broken in 2004 by Retief Goosen. His victory sparked a run of four consecutive non-American winners.

Northern Ireland’s Graeme McDowell (2010) became the first European player to win the event since Tony Jacklin of England back in 1970. Rory McIlroy won in 2011 and Justin Rose won his maiden major title in 2013 to become the first Englishman since Jacklin to triumph in the US Open.

Willie Anderson, Bobby Jones, Ben Hogan and Jack Nicklaus have all won the US Open four times. Tiger Woods has three victories to his name whilst South Africans Ernie Els and Retief Goosen have two wins apiece. Three-time winner Hale Irwin is the oldest winner at the age of 45 in 1990.

US Open 2013

Justin Rose finally clinched the major title that he had been threatening to win since his dramatic tie for fourth pace at the British Open in 1998. As well as ending the 43-year wait for an English winner in this tournament, Rose also became the first to win a major tournament since Nick Faldo in 1996.

In keeping with US Open tradition, the course proved extremely testing and a level-par 70 to finish at one over for the tournament was enough to defeat American Phil Mickelson by two shots. Mickelson needed a birdie on the final hole to force a playoff but dropped a shot to finish runner-up for an incredible sixth time in the event.

The tournament is staged so that the final round falls on Father’s Day in the States and it was fitting that Rose should dedicate his victory to his late father and mentor Ken, who died from leukaemia in 2002.

US Open 2014

The 2014 U.S. Open Championships will be held at Pinehurst No. 2, North Carolina from June 12th to 15th. In the event of a tie, an 18-hole playoff will be staged on Monday 16th June. The course will also stage the US Women’s Open the following week, the first course in history to host both tournaments in the same year.

The first PGA Tour major staged at Pinehurst was the US PGA Championship in 1936 with victory going to Denny Shute. In 1951, Pinehurst hosted the Ryder Cup and in 1991 and 1992 it was the venue for The Tour Championship.

The second major championship to be staged at Pinehurst was the US Open in 1999 won by Payne Stewart. The Open returned to the same course in 2005 and victory went to New Zealander Michael Campbell. In 2011, Pinehurst No. 2 completed a $2.5 million renovation led by Ben Crenshaw in an effort to revert to the original Donald Ross design.

Author Profile: